Spinal Taps Anyone?!?!

 Its been about a year now since one of the worst days of my life. I can tell you I have been through some crazy shit in my life! Not to mention Daily Pain!! But… when my neurologist and I start twiddling our thumbs and come up with something else that just might work, just might be the answer. I say “Lets do it, It cant be worse then what I am already dealing with every day of my life!” So that is where the spinal tap comes in. We thought it would be good to see what level my spinal fluid was at in my brain. I thought, why not! I’ve had to babies and both times had an epidural. Same thing, right? Wrong! 

I go to the Hospital, Lay down, a big TV screen so I can watch. (more for him, but it was in my face) He warns me that the lidocaine  he is going to use on my back doesn’t have a buffer because they ran out and could only use the good stuff on children so suck it up. When I asked if people could get put under anesthesia? He said thats absurd! He was almost upset sounding when I asked. 

My mom had to wait behind the glass. the nurse held my hand. I laid very still. Tears streaming down my face. Trying not to scream out in pain. The needles start going in one after another. Then he starts the spinal tap. I can feel it but I am not going to say anything. Tears still running down my face… 

After he is done I get the instructions from the nurse. My mom drives me home. The look on her face. Kills me to this day. I get home and it hits me… The spinal headache. Of course, I am going to get the spinal headache! I start taking meds. Nothing works. So now my spine hurts, I am vomiting and the worse headache ever!! I call the Dr and he tells me to try and make it through the night. My mom gives me some pain meds, sleeping pills. I take everything.. She wouldn’t leave the rest knowing I would over dose. Guess what, I would have! 

The next day I tried all day, I waited and waited and it wouldn’t go away. So I called my mom and she brought me back to the hospital. Now the Dr was really pissed. He was going to miss his Daughters recital because of me. Well maybe he should have done it right the first time? Now he gives me a blood patch.. So gross! They take blood from my arm and inject it in my spine below the hole in my back that is leaking fluid. A blood patch.

Guess if it worked… Nope! It actually caused extreme lower back pain and I was on bed rest for a WEEK! Plus the spinal headache was still going on. 

The first and only time in my life that I prayed to just die! For an entire week! When I am in pain I will pray to get better or focus on something else but the pain was so bad. So intense and nothing they could do. I just wanted to die. I couldn’t even think about my children, my husband, my family. All I could think about was Please end this pain. 

Every time since when My neurologist and I sit down and start coming up with “the next great plan” We leave out spinal tap! 

*BTW My levels were three times higher then normal but not high enough to where he thought I needed surgery at the time. Thankful for that

2 thoughts on “Spinal Taps Anyone?!?!

  1. It must have been terrible to go through all that! I have never had a spinal tap but it seemed like all it caused you was more pain. You are very brave to have done it and it is one more thing to rule out or treat. The doctor seemed so uncompassionate! It hurt me to read how he was talking to you. I hope that the pain from that is over! Wishing you better days 🙂
    -Amanda

  2. Thank you Amanda! I don’t think I have ever had a Dr hurt my feelings or my body like that ever in my life. My mom thought I should make a complaint. No point. He just had Really bad bed side manners and cared nothing for other people. My Neuro promised me that would never happen again so I am happy about that!

Leave a Reply

